Appalachian Springs Foundation Statement

Appalachian Springs Foundation Statement

The “Third Thursdays” series is funded by the Appalachian Springs Foundation. In this video, ASF’s Artistic Director Clara Gibson Maxwell talks about her history of choreographing for Ornette Coleman’s music, and why ASF is funding Dave Bryant’s recital series devoted to Harmolodic concepts pioneered by Ornette.

Before they supported the “Third Thursdays” recital series, The Appalachian Springs Foundation funded an ongoing project for a trilogy of albums by Dave Bryant featuring Ornette Coleman’s Harmolodic Theory.


ASF’s Support for a trilogy of albums by Dave Bryant and guests

Announcing the release on Friday, June 19, 2020 of NIGHT VISITORS, a new album by keyboardist/composer Dave Bryant, with bassist Charnett Moffett and percussionist Gregg Bendian. This is the first of a proposed series of three albums by Bryant, in cooperation with the Appalachian Springs Foundation, exploring different aspects and new expressions of music inspired by Ornette Coleman’s Harmolodic Theory.

Each release will feature musicians who have worked with Coleman, as well as like-minded kindred spirits eager to continue the work and egalitarian vision of a creative process defined by a parity of both artistic elements and contributing participants.

The forthcoming second release will feature performances by bassist Jamaaladeen Tacuma, saxophonist George Garzone, percussionist Chris Bowman, and guitarist Eric Hofbauer.

Visit Dave Bryant’s Bandcamp page to listen and support the artist.